Inquiry welcomes the appointment of 50 junior Counsel to Legal team

  • Published: 20 June 2022
  • Topics: Legal

The Inquiry Chair, Baroness Heather Hallett, has appointed 50 junior Counsel to join its legal team.

The following junior Counsel will support Hugo Keith QC, Lead Counsel to the Inquiry, Martin Smith, Solicitor to the Inquiry, and the eleven recently appointed Queen’s Counsel with the preparation and delivery of the Inquiry’s investigative work:

Alia Akram
Andrew Beech
Georgina Blower
Tessa Buchanan
Joshua Cainer
Fiona Canby
Joanne Cecil
Meg Cochrane
Bethany Condron
Amrit Kaur Dhanoa
Jamie Fireman
Hannah Gardiner
Richard Grimshaw
Camilla Ter Haar
Lauren Hitchman
Joseph Hudson
Zeenat Islam
Abimbola Johnson
Susannah Johnson
Bo-Eun Jung
Dermot Keating
Paul Livingston
Priya Malhotra
Daniel Mansell
Lara McCaffrey
Mass Ndow-Njie
Amelia Nice
Zoe Nield
Caragh Nimmo
Marie-Claire O’Kane
Stephanie Painter
Laura Paisley
Vondez Phipps
Christopher Saad
Nick Scott
Alice Scott
Jamie Sharma
Victoria Shehadeh
Natasha Shotunde
Helena Spector
Laura Stephenson
Juliet Stevens
Tom Stoate
Shirley Tang
Usman Tariq
Dr Leah Treanor
Marilyn Vitte
Lois Williams
Kate Wilson

Louise Cowen

The junior Counsel will work closely with the eleven QCs appointed to lead the Inquiry’s investigations. Junior Counsel will conduct legal research, analyse and review documents, identify evidence, draft materials, and assist with the preparation of hearings.

The 49 junior Counsel were appointed following a competitive, fair and open recruitment process, which included both paper application and interview.