### TAG & TAC Steering Group - Terms of Reference

### **Purpose**

The purpose of the Steering Group is to support a coherent, robust and sustainable approach to scientific and technical information and advice during the Covid-19 pandemic and as we move to endemic.

The Group will steer the work of TAC and TAG to ensure that it meets the requirements of Welsh Government and Welsh Ministers to support the evolving response to Covid-19 from pandemic to endemic in Wales and setting this in the context of the work of the Covid Evidence Centre, Knowledge and Analytical Services (KAS) and other relevant 4 Nations bodies.

To achieve this purpose the Steering Group will:

- Oversee and prioritise the work of TAC and TAG ensuring that TAC are able
  to deliver evidence commissioning processes in response to Covid-19 which
  are aligned across the Welsh Government, are able to meet the advice needs
  of Welsh Government policy teams and Welsh Ministers, and are able to
  identify emerging areas of concern.
- Maintain an overview of progress on the TAC and TAC rolling work programme agreeing changes to the priorities as these emerge;
- Commission key pieces of work and identify emerging areas of concern to meet strategic priorities.
- Ensure appropriate levels of support and resources are available to develop
  that advice working as part of the wider landscape of analytical and advisory
  bodies of the 4 nations including Joint Biosecurity Centre (JBC), Sage and
  other UK bodies as well as the Covid Evidence Centre and KAS.
- Provide oversight of the governance of TAC, TAG, their roles, responsibility and reporting lines.
- Steer discussions on future remit, roles and responsibilities.

## Membership of the Steering Group

The Steering Group will be made up by the Director General for Health & Social Services, the Director General Covid Crisis Coordination, the Chief Medical Officer, the Director for Public Health Policy (who will provide line management to TAC/TAG following on arrival in post) and HSSG Director of Workforce.

The Steering Group will be co-chaired by Dr Andrew Goodall, Director General for Health and Social Services and Reg Kilpatrick, Director General, Covid Crisis Coordination.

## TAG and TAC

TAG is the Technical Advisory Group, the group of scientific and technical experts who provide advice and guidance to the Welsh Government in response to COVID-19.

TAC is the Technical Advisory Cell, the core team of public servants who:

- take active part in UK-wide COVID-19 scientific groups such as SAGE;
- chairs and provides a secretariat function for TAG and its associated subgroups; and
- draft and issue advice to the Welsh public sector, communicating advice and evidence on COVID-19 to the wider public as needed.

## Relationship with JBC governance

Alignment with the work of the JBC in Wales, led by the Covid Crisis Coordination Group, will be delivered through the Co-Chairs of TAC and TAG and the Director of Public Health Policy taking membership of the JBC Wales Prioritisation Panel (JBC WPP).

The JBC WPP Chair will be responsible for keeping the Steering Group informed of progress with relevant JBC projects and their actions/outputs.

## Meeting frequency and agenda

Meetings will take place fortnightly. The Secretariat will be delivered by the Information Hub initially.

#### Circulation of Papers

Agendas, supporting papers and minutes of the previous meeting will be circulated to members as soon as is practicably possible. Minutes and actions of the most recent meeting will also be circulated as soon as is practicably possible after the meeting.

#### **Attendance**

Other than in exceptional circumstances, all members of the Steering Group should endeavour to attend all meetings.

#### **Deputies**

Named deputies allowed.

# TAG & TAC Steering Group – Terms of Reference

# Membership – TAG and TAC

Technical Advisory Group (TAG)	
Name	Title / Organisation
Fliss Bennée	Co-chair TAG, Welsh Government
Dr Rob Orford	Co-chair TAG, Chief Scientific Advisor for Health, Welsh Government
Dr Brendan Collins	Co-Chair Modelling and Socioeconomic subgroups, Welsh Government
Craiger Solomons	Co-Chair Policy Modelling Group and All Wales Modelling Forum. Welsh Government
Dr Robin Howe	Chair Testing Technical Advisory Group, Public Health Wales
NR	Chair Risk Communication and Behaviours Group, Swansea University
Dr Robert Hoyle	Chair International Intelligence Group, Welsh Government
Prof Davey Jones	Chair Environmental Science Group, Bangor University
Dr Heather Payne	Chair Children & Education Group, Welsh Government
Prof Kieran Walshe	Chair Research and Development Group, Welsh Government
Jonathan Price	Co-Chair Socio-Economic Harms Subgroup, Welsh Government

Technical Advisory Cell – r	members (on website, last updated 26 November 2020) TAG members in red
Welsh Government	
Fliss Bennée	Deputy Director, Technology and Digital Data
Dr Rob Orford	Chief Scientific Advisor for Health
Dr Frank Atherton	Chief Medical Officer for Wales
Dr Brendan Collins	TAC Head of Health Economics
Prof Christianne Glossop	Chief Veterinary Officer
Prof Peter Halligan	Chief Scientific Adviser for Wales
Stephanie Howarth	Chief Statistician, HSS
Dr Robert Hoyle	Head of Science, Welsh Government
Marion Lyons	Senior Medical Officer, Population Health
NR	Head of Data Science Unit
Dr Huw Morris	Group Director (SHELL)
Dr Heather Payne	Child Health Senior Medical Officer
Jonathan Price	Chief Economist
Andrew Sallows	HSS Delivery Programme Director
Craiger Solomons	Lead analyst, Health Science Directorate
Prof Kieran Walshe	Director of Health and Care Research Wales
NR	Pathogen Genomics, Public Health Wales
Dr Simon Cottrell	Principal Epidemiologist (Respiratory infection and vaccine preventable
Bi Simon Sourch	disease), Public Health Wales
Dr Eleri Davies	Consultant Medical Microbiologist, Public Health Wales
Dr John Day	Chair of the Welsh Scientific Advisory Committee
Dr Andrew Fry	Director, Wales Gene Park
NR	BioMedical Sciences, Institute of Life Science
Dr Robin Howe	Consultant Microbiologist, Public Health Wales
NR	Professor in Public Health and Psychiatry, Swansea University
Prof Stephen Jolles	Consultant Clinical Immunologist, University Hospital Wales
Prof Davey Jones	Professor of Soil & Environmental Science, Bangor University
NR	Consultant Medical Microbiologist, Public Health Wales
Prof Ronan Lyons	Co-Director, SAIL Databank, Swansea University
Dr Catherine Moore	Microbiology Clinical Scientist, Public Health Wales
Dr Martin Rolles	Vice-Chair of the Welsh Scientific Advisory Committee
Prof Julian Sampson	Division of Cancer and Genetics, Cardiff University
Dr Giri Shankar	Professional Lead for Health Protection, Public Health Wales
Prof Andrew Weightman	Head of Organisms and Environment Division, Cardiff University
NR	Consultant Epidemiologist, Public Health Wales